Farmington, Connecticut – also this publisher’s current hometown.
The Town of Farmington was incorporated in 1645, known as the “Mother Town”, Farmington was partitioned into the towns of Avon, Bristol, Plainville, New Britain, Berlin, Southington, and Burlington. This history is reflected in the Town Seal today. Farmington comprises 28.7 square miles along the Farmington River. Farmington is a residential suburb in the Hartford metropolitan area that has retained its distinctive character through maintenance of its historic districts and careful land-use planning for the future. Farmington has a Council-Manager form of government with a Council Chairperson as the chief elected official (Nancy Nickerson) and a Town Manager (Kathleen A. Eagen) as the Chief Executive Officer.
Farmington has a Chamber of Commerce which is currently led by President, Brendan Moran and Executive Director, Cindy Scoville.
Farmington has a Recreation Department which is managed by Director, Nancy E. Parent and Supervisor, Geoffrey Porter.
Farmington offers a wide variety of trails to connect everyone to the great outdoors. It has a National Scenic Trail, two trails on the Farmington Valley Greenway, eight historic trails connecting to at least five eras, several handicapped trails to fishing piers, and a number of short hikes through Farmington’s forests. If the trails appear too wet, try one of six historic walks through Unionville and Farmington. – Trail System
Click here to learn why our publisher loves Farmington, broken down into 10 reasons.
We have emailed all mentioned in this article to see what they think about Momford County. If they invite us in to meet with them, and/or to experience their establishment, we will be sure to add our experience with you.